There are nearly 300 million cars on the road in the United States on any given day. That means there’s a frequently high chance of car accidents. Most states in the US require drivers to purchase and maintain a certain level of car insurance in case of an accident.
Insurance is required in almost all states, and non-compliance can be costly no matter where you go. But there are certain states where car insurance laws are particularly strict.
If you’re planning on moving and want to know how strict the laws might be in your new home, read on. We’ll discuss the states with the strictest car insurance laws.
Our northernmost state also carries the strictest car insurance requirements of anywhere in the country. Alaska is notoriously tough on all vehicle-related infractions, due to the frequently dangerous conditions of many of their roads. They also have one of the strictest no texting laws in the country as well.
Without car insurance, you could find yourself without a license for anywhere between 90 and 365 days. The state coverage adds up to $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. There’s $25,000 required coverage for property damage.
You definitely don’t want to cross any of the car insurance laws in Alaska– it could be a life-altering punishment. And that’s all before the cost of any accident-related lawsuits.
The other strictest state in the USA is on the opposite side of the country. Maine has just as strict of driving laws as Alaska does, and carries the same insurance requirements.
That means $50,000, $100,000 and $25,000 apply here as well. What Maine is a little bit more lenient on is suspensions. If you have your driver’s license suspended in the state of Maine for car insurance, all you need to is the pay the proper fine. In most cases, Maine will lift license suspensions in the cases where fines are paid on time.
3. North Carolina
Nowhere in the country is quite as strict as Alaska or Maine, but North Carolina isn’t far behind.
Minimum coverage requirements are a small amount lower, with $30,000 required per person, $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. The North Carolina state government keeps a close eye on drivers and requires proof of coverage to be sent in if there’s any lapse in policy.
Also fairly high when it comes to minimum requirements is Connecticut, which boasts a $20,000/$40,000/$10,000 spread.
Like North Carolina, the Connecticut government keeps a close eye on residents and is notified of any instance of a policy lapse. This environment makes it essential to have solid insurance at any given time in the state, as an unfulfilled lapse could result in a fine or suspension.
Many in-state citizens use sites like Compare.com to find the best insurance that matches state requirements. You can learn more about Compare.com from Clearsurance and see what insurance options are available in your own state.
Arizona has a very strict car insure law but in a different and unexpected way. The coverage requirements are fairly low, coming in at $15,000/$30,000/$10,000. But even visitors to the state are required by law to be covered by insurance companies that are licensed in Arizona.
If you visit the state and fail to have the proper insurance, it could result in a hefty fine.
Knowing Your State’s Car Insurance Laws
It’s important for every driver to be aware of the car insurance laws of the state they abide in. Failure to do so could result in fines, suspension, and even total revocation of a driver’s license in some areas.
Check out our blog for more helpful legal resources.